defining the set-up of the organisation

The structure of the EGTC is defined by the following factors.

  • The establishment of the EGTC is defined by the Regulation (EU) 1302/2013 amending the Regulation (EC) 1082/2006 and the national provisions of the participating countries. According to the Regulation the following bodies are mandatory to set up:

    • Director
    • General Assembly
  • Membership of the EGTC

    Entities defined by the EU Regulation (EU Member States or national authorities, regional and local authorities, public undertakings, bodies goverened by public law and undertakings entrusted with operation of services of general economic interest) may participate in the establishment of the EGTC. These are the initiators to decide on potential further joining members.

  • The objectives of the cooperation

    The objectives of the EGTC are selected in common by the initiators with the limitation that the planned grouping is not allowed to have such competencies that the founding members do not have. Successful cooperation cannot be shaped without a joint development vision which most often is determined by geographic proximity. When this factor is missing, the sustainability of the cooperation depends on a strong shared thematic focus.

  • Three levels of the EGTC’s functions

    The EGTC as a community governance and development solution includes three levels of functions.

    • The political level means the internal decision-making processes, potential office holders and their relationships to each other.
    • The strategic level consists of the platforms of the development activities designed together. These platforms lay the basis and implement the planned joint projects.
    • The administrative level is the level of everyday operation. The administrative centre of the grouping is managed by the Director, and the tasks of the centre are to be clearly separated from decision-making and strategic missions.

    The structure of the EGTC should represent all these functions.