Pons Danubii EGTC



The Pons Danubii European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) was officially established on 15 December 2010 as a grouping of three Slovak (Komárno, Hurbanovo, Kolárovo) and three Hungarian (Komárom, Tata, Kisbér) municipalities, joined by Oroszlány in 2011. The Pons Danubii EGTC is the 15th officially registered EGTC in the EU, covering a total area of 544,5 km2 in the Vértes periphery, in Bakonyalja, and in the region of the Danube and Váh rivers. The EGTC is based in Komárno, Slovakia, and promotes the interests of approximately 270 000 residents of seven towns. 

The aim of the Grouping is the integrated development of border areas, the development and implementation of applications, and the preplanning of joint strategic developments aimed at improving the quality of life of the people living in the region.

Specific aims of the Grouping:

  •       increasing cross-border cohesion,
  •       implementing projects in order to enhance joint strategic development,
  •       facilitating the daily life of people living in the Pons Danubii EGTC territory.