Ister-Granum EGTC



The Ister-Granum European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation with Limited Liability was registered on 12.11.2008. It was the first EGTC in Hungary and the second one in the European Union. Nowadays, the cooperation has 82 members, covering the ​​roughly 35-40 kilometers wide influencing area of the cities of Esztergom and Štúrovo. Altogether its total surface is ​​1 682,3 km2 which contains parts of the Börzsöny hills, the Ipoly valley, the Visegrád mountains, the Danube Bend, Gerecse hills, and the valleys of the Rivers Danube and Hron. The center of the EGTC is located in Esztergom, Hungary, with a total population of 162 786 in the whole EGTC.

The aim of the EGTC is to enable and promote the strengthening of economic and social cohesion through the implementation of programmes co-financed by the European Union, in territorial cooperation, by exploiting the legal personality of the EGTC within the administrative boundaries of the participating municipalities.

The main objective of the EGTC is to implement programs and projects regarding territorial cooperation co-financed by the European Union.